Not So Secret Diary of a Not So Iron Chef!

Do you ever have the urge to bake random ingredients together and see how it turns out?

Well that’s what I did today…

Instead of googling a recipe which contained ingredients that I didn’t have. I decided to make use of what the pantry gave me…. which turned out to be:

Coconut-Chocolate-Bran-Coffee

Here were the challenges that I was faced with…

Challenge #1- Use the Natural Bran (which impulsively I bought from woolies for no apparent reason)
Challenge #2- Make use of the  Shredded Coconut because has been sitting in my pantry for a while.
Challenge #3- My father is diabetic, so I needed to use as little sugar as possible.

I came up with a lamington/ bounty inspired creation. And the result was better than expected; they came out pretty well for something I randomly threw together. However, they were a tad bit denser than what I would have preferred but I’m pretty happy with the result (I probably will add an extra egg next time).

Caution: Bake at your own Risk
… I wouldn’t recommend this recipe , but for those who are interested, here’s the recipe I came up with:

Ingredients

1/2 cup plain flour
1/2 cup self-raising flour
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup shredded coconut
1/2 cup natural bran
1/3 cup raw cane sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup of espresso
1/3 cup coconut oil (room temperature)
Handful of raw oats (optional)
Handful of bittersweet dark chocolate chips (optional)

Instructions

  1. Preheat your oven 180 degrees Celsius
  2. Sift the flours and the cocoa together. Lightly toss the shredded coconut and chocolate chip in the flour mixture.
  3. Beat the eggs and sugar together until thick and pale
  4. Fold in the dry ingredients into the egg mixture.
  5. Add the Bran and the Oats
  6. Mix in coconut oil until moist.
  7. Gradually add Espresso to achieve batter consistency.
  8. Scoop batter into greased muffin tin or muffin papers.
    Optional: Sprinkle oats and shredded coconut for decoration.
  9. Bake for about 20 minutes or until skewer comes out clean when you poke it.

TA-DA!!

CocoChocoCoffBran Muffins……………… hm, yeah I might need to work on the name.

But they’re not half bad when I realize there’s only 1/3 a cup of sugar and no butter in it!!
And when I say they didn’t turn out ‘half bad’ what I really mean to say is… they’re not really great.

Do you guys have any tips on making these muffin a bit softer/lighter?

Leave a Reply

